What I plan on talking about

So I’ve started a blog…

First off, I just wanted to see how this would work. I do like using sites like Facebook and dailykos to really get an idea of what is going on in the world. I have written a couple diaries for dailykos, but I tend to lurk without posting much. I suppose you could say that it is my conversational style in general; to observe what is happening and rarely give my own thoughts except when I feel there is a truly pertinent point to make. It’s not all serious as that, but I like to know what kind of trouble I would get myself into before I leap, and I go by Mark Twain when he said: “Know the facts first and then you can distort them as much as you please” (which happens to be my signature on dk).

My political views tend to be on the left of the left, which of course I see as the only sane place to be <grin>. I have come to this world view from careful consideration of what kind of system I believe works and what does not work. I like to think that my position tends to rely more on the facts of the situation, but emotion can get involved. Mostly, I like to to view things from a “big picture” kind of vista. Why is it better to be liberal than conservative? When they are broken down to their base elements:

liberal=generous, favorable to progress or reform, favorable to maximum personal freedom

conservative=disposed to preserving existing conditions, cautiously moderate, defender of the status quo, greedy

If you were to learn of an alien culture from another planet and they told you about their political system using similar terms, which qualities do you think would be more desirable? It is true that politicians do not always live up to the ideas which are espoused by the ideals that they supposedly adhere to, but I would rather have the person who governs based on the ideas of progress, reform and personal freedom than the person who wishes to maintain the status quo.

Another quote that I believe is representative of my thinking (and I believe is often misused) is from JFK: “A rising tide lifts all boats.” Which I believe means whatever is beneficial to the least among us benefits us all. Of course, Republicans have been misusing that quote for years, as some kind of justification for tax cuts for the wealthy. Funny how that works out sometimes.

So now you know; this is my thought process and how I got here. This is my blog and I will see how it progresses and develops in time. Hopefully my words will give readers something to think about in the future.

-Brandon

~ by deviant24x on October 27, 2010.

Leave a comment